top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenata Reis

Print and digital editorial

Updated: Jun 23, 2020

I chose talking about Gin, because it is a drink that I started to appreciate recently. I didn’t really know what Gin was, so I thought it could be fun making a design with this theme.

It is mentioned in the article how gin is made, what kinds of gin exist, how to drink gin, etc. The target audience is people from 25 to 45 years old, who are sophisticated, medium to medium-high income, who love hanging out with friends, who have cool vibes and who probably would like to know more about this spirit.


I want the visuals in my article and mobile concepts, to have the feeling of this drink. It will look sophisticated and elegant. I was thinking about using a serif font, but after trying both serif and sans serif, I could see that a sans serif looked much better. The typeface used for the main title was “Century Gothic Pro” and the one used for the body copy was “Haboro Soft”. To make the layout have a sophisticated feeling, I used a dark and textured background and pictures of glasses and cocktails. For my mobile, I designed a blog page, with a menu of all the topics in the article, so if the reader wants to read just one part, they can click on that part of the menu, and read it. I used the same images in both, magazine spread and mobile, to create consistency, however, on the mobile, I gave a kind of animation to the magazine print spread. So, it’s like the visual on the magazine has gained life in the mobile.


 

Process work


These are my sketches, I was playing with the idea of having one picture on the top of the left page, and text underneath it. and on the right page, I wanted to have a big glass, and text flowing around it. Which didn't really work because it would be too text heavy. Another Idea was to put a picture inside of a random shape and make text flow around it. But I found the first idea more cohesive, so I decided to explore that one.



Because only the picture of the glass with all the text around would not look very good for the eyes of the viewer, I decided to put only a image of a few glasses together and on the third page I'd use more them one picture to work with my text wrap.



This is How the spread ended up.
Spread

Third page

While I was doing this elegant and sophisticated layout, I started working on a mobile version for this same layout.


Sketches:







bottom of page